Greetings from Groton's newest official town entity – the Sustainability Commission! We are pleased to announce that we are up and running and had our inaugural meeting on July 14th. The purpose of this letter, in addition to introducing ourselves, is to briefly explain our purpose and to request that your town entity group designate one of your members to serve as a liaison to our commission.

A sustainable community is one that strives to achieve sustainability at the local level in the three major areas of ecology/environment, economy/employment and community/social. The purpose of our commission, in addition to recommending and undertaking initiatives (with a particular emphasis on energy conservation and cost control), is to focus and integrate town efforts to become a sustainable community by developing a town "Sustainability Plan". Groton is fortunate to already have many official and non-official groups that address many aspects of sustainability but lacks a coordinating body to focus and promote such efforts. The Sustainability Commission's role with regard to such organizations is one of support in the integration and coordination of sustainable objectives through community outreach, education and involvement.

We request that each town entity nominate a contact person with our commission. The purpose of this role is, minimally, to serve as a communication link between our two organizations. Hopefully, this person would, additionally, be interested in attending meetings and participating on subcommittees or activities organized/supported by the commission.

Feel free to contact any of our members (see list below) or go to the Sustainability Commission page on the Town website (townofgroton.org) for additional information. You can also send email to <u>sustaining@townofgroton.org</u>. Please return the name of your liaison, along with their email and phone number, to our mailbox in Town Hall at your earliest convenience.

Please join us at one of our next meeting which will be held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month at 7:30 at the NRWA headquarters on 119!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts Chairperson

<u>Commission Members</u>: Leo Laverdure Chase Duffy Chris Christie Richard Hewitt Carl Canner Carl Flowers Al Collins Michael McCarthy