Lost Lake Watershed Advisory Committee Minutes

February 16, 2016

Present: Mark Deuger, Mike Rosa, Art Prest, Alex Woodle, Susan Horowitz

Absent: Tom Orcutt, Jack Petropoulos, Steve Legge, recording secretary.

Guest: Carl Nielsen, ESS

Agenda

Meeting called to order at 7:10pm

The state 604b grant program is focusing on storm water studies and conceptual design in 2016. No matching funds are required to receive 604b monies. Usually awards amount to between \$35-50,000. The state has approximately \$185,000 available this year for grants. There is a lot of competition for these grants, but Groton is a good candidate because of previous studies done.

Carl Nielsen suggests we assess the main sources of potential nutrient loading such as all inlets to the lakes, the water quality in general and identify and sample groundwater point sources. This will allow us to develop a nutrient model that will assess percentage for each source.

The grant judges want to see how this data will improve nutrient levels.

Deuger wants ESS's study to fill the major data gaps the committee has struggled with through its previous iterations such as stream inlet and septic contributions.

ESS will make the case through their research what is the right path forward.

Under Phase II of the 604b grant, ESS will pull together as part of its application, the conceptual designs for this summer.

A motion was made by Rosa and seconded by Horowitz for ESS to draft 604b proposal which will be distributed to the committee electronically. It passed unanimously.

Art suggested that volunteers learn how to assess water quality parameters working closely with ESS to enable the community to continue its monitoring in subsequent years.

ESS requested access to all copies of previous studies, many of which are available digitally. Alex to contact Orcutt about Dufresne-Henry study and have it posted to LLWAC's website page of the Town.

Next meeting March 15th.

Motion to adjourn by Deuger, seconded by Horowitz. Passed unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 8:30 pm.

Respectively submitted Alex Woodle, Committee Member