Groton Community Preservation Committee

Minutes of Regular Meeting of 23 April 2005

Location:	Groton Town Hall, 2 nd Floor Lunch Room
Time:	11:00 AM
Members Present:	Bruce H. Easom (Secretary), Dan Emerson, Rick Hughson, Carolyn Perkins (Vice Chair) and Mike Roberts (Chair)
Members Absent:	Robert DeGroot, and as of yet unnamed representative of the Parks Commission.
Attendees:	None

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 11:07 AM.

Mike Roberts handed out the latest draft of the Community Preservation Plan. The Committee reviewed the plan and made a number of minor editorial changes. Bruce H. Easom agreed to re-send the URL for the state web site where the regional statistical income data can be found.

The Committee discussed other issues that remain un-addressed in the current draft of the plan. One question considered was what happen when a recommended project is not accepted at Town Meeting. Should the funds remain in the Community Preservation Fund or should the Committee then recommend the next best project be funded? The issue remained unresolved. Mike Roberts volunteered to research Chapter 44B of the Massachusetts General Laws to find out of the language of the act requires that projects addressing the historic resources of the town be approved by the Historical Commission. Bruce H. Easom volunteered to draft language on negotiating and signing a contract for proposal winners. The contract step would become Step 7 and Project Execution would be pushed to Step 8.

The Committee decided to schedule its next meeting on Monday 2 May 2005.

Bruce H. Easom volunteered to create a list of all boards, committees and commissions in town. The purpose of the list is to make sure a copy of the draft gets to everyone in town hall for their comments.

Bruce H. Easom moved to Adjourn. The motion was seconded by Rick Hughson. The motion carried unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 1:30 PM

Respectfully submitted,

Bruce H. Easom

29 July 2005

Date

Secretary Groton Community Preservation Committee

These minutes were approved as amended by unanimous vote on 1 July 2005.